Discrimination of Families, Pregnant Women, and Children in Wisconsin Apartments

It is illegal in Wisconsin (and federally) for landlords to discriminate against tenants based on their having children, being pregnant, or otherwise their familial status. Children must be provided equal access to all facilities and services offered to adults. In addition, tenants are protected from discrimination based on their marital status.

Family Restrictions

Most types of restrictions on families with children violate Wisconsin and federal law. For example, charging tenants with children higher rent or a higher deposit, advertising an apartment as being only for families (or not for families), putting an age limit for children, and placing all families in one part of the building are all illegal. Wis. Stat. 106.50 , Wis. Stat. Sec. 106.50 .

Rights of Children

Landlords that treat children and adults differently are violating the law that prohibits landlords from discriminating against a tenant’s familial status. Thus, prohibiting children from playing in the laundry room, using the pool, or putting up signs that children can’t skateboard violates the law. Apartment policies must apply equally to adults and children. Wis. Stat. 106.50 , Wis. Stat. Sec. 106.50 .

Pregnancy

Discriminating against pregnant tenants is illegal. For example, it’s illegal to denying an apartment application because someone is pregnant, charging higher rent or deposits to a pregnant tenant, or deliberately placing a pregnant tenant in a certain part of a building so other tenants aren’t disturbed by the noise of babies. Wis. Stat. 106.50 , Wis. Stat. Sec. 106.50 .

Marital Status

Wisconsin additionally prohibits discrimination based on one’s marital status. Landlords cannot offer lowered rent to married tenants, only accept married couples, or only accept single tenants. Wis. Stat. 106.50 , Wis. Stat. Sec. 106.50 .

Enforcement

Tenants may report discrimination regarding familial status, children, or pregnancy to the federal government directly. They also have the option in Wisconsin to report it to state authorities. Tenants may choose to report the problem to both.

What happens when a tenant reports a problem to the federal government? The most recent year we have data is from 2016. In 2016, 63.4% (41.2% from Wisconsin) of discrimination cases were resolved in the year they were filed. 8 out of the 51 discrimination complaints from Wisconsin were about discrimination against children, familial status, or pregnancy. Landlords that violate the federal Fair Housing Act can face civil penalties up to $16,000 for a first violation and $65,000 for future violations (each act of discrimination is a separate violation). In cases where the Justice Department is involved, civil penalties may rise to $100,000 per violation and federal courts can add additional damages. Landlords should also keep in mind the time and costs involved in defending against an action by the federal government. About 36% of complaints end up with a charge or settlement, based on 2016 data. Data.gov

What happens when a tenant reports a problem to the authorities of Wisconsin or a local government? They may ask the tenant for information to help bring the case, including any evidence (e.g., emails and pictures). If the government finds there’s sufficient information between the tenant’s complaint (as well as complaints from other tenants), the landlord may be charged and taken to court to defend themselves. Landlords will likely receive fines if they lose. The amount of the fines will be determined in part by the severity of the issue. Fines increase significantly for repeat offenders. Wis. Stat. Sec. 106.50 . Wis. Stat. 106.50 , Wis. Stat. Sec. 106.50 .

Reporting a Violation

Tenants may report violations of federal laws (i.e., discrimination against children and families) through the HUD website – it can be done online or via phone. Tenants can report issues to their state government by looking at the state website. A google search for “report fair housing violation in Wisconsin” will likely provide applicable information. In either case, tenants may be able to call the number on the page to ask whether their situation legally qualifies as rental discrimination.

Retaliation by the Landlord

Federal law (the https://www.hud.gov/program_offices/fair_housing_equal_opp/online-complaintFair Housing Act ) makes it illegal for landlords to harass a tenant in retaliation for reporting a problem. Examples of such harassment may include raising the rent or threatening to evict the tenant. Each such attempt is an additional violation. These protections do not apply if the tenant complained about something that they don’t have right to, so tenants should know whether it’s a violation. Dept of Housing and Urban Development.

Discrimination of Families, Pregnant Women, and Children in Wyoming Apartments

It is illegal in Wyoming (and federally) for landlords to discriminate against tenants based on their having children, being pregnant, or otherwise their familial status. Children must be provided equal access to all facilities and services offered to adults.

Family Restrictions

Most types of restrictions on families with children violate Wyoming and federal law. For example, charging tenants with children higher rent or a higher deposit, advertising an apartment as being only for families (or not for families), putting an age limit for children, and placing all families in one part of the building are all illegal. Wyo. Stat. 40-26-107 , Wyo. Stat. 40-26-144 , Wyo. Stat. Sec. 40-26-103 .

Rights of Children

Landlords that treat children and adults differently are violating the law that prohibits landlords from discriminating against a tenant’s familial status. Thus, prohibiting children from playing in the laundry room, using the pool, or putting up signs that children can’t skateboard violates the law. Apartment policies must apply equally to adults and children. Wyo. Stat. 40-26-107 , Wyo. Stat. 40-26-144 , Wyo. Stat. Sec. 40-26-103 .

Pregnancy

Discriminating against pregnant tenants is illegal. For example, it’s illegal to denying an apartment application because someone is pregnant, charging higher rent or deposits to a pregnant tenant, or deliberately placing a pregnant tenant in a certain part of a building so other tenants aren’t disturbed by the noise of babies. Wyo. Stat. 40-26-107 , Wyo. Stat. 40-26-144 , Wyo. Stat. Sec. 40-26-103 .

Exemptions for Second Homes

Wyoming includes an exception intended for landlords who are renting out their second homes. The law is intended to reduce the compliance burden for such non-professional landlords. Specifically, landlords who rent fewer than 4 single-family houses do not have to abide by most of the discrimination laws.

Such exemptions do not typically apply to discriminatory advertising (e.g., “Only accepting tenants over 40”) or where the landlord uses a professional property manager.

Wyo. Stat. 40-26-103 , Wyo. Stat. 40-26-107 , Wyo. Stat. 40-26-110 .

Exception for Landlord-Occupied Homes

Wyoming has an exception called the “Murphy Rule”, which is intended to allow landlords to rent out extra rooms in their home without a large compliance burden. If the apartment is in the landlord’s own residence, then the landlord is free to discriminate regarding whom they rent to. This exception only applies to smaller homes, specifically where the house or building has four or fewer apartment units.

This exemption does not typically apply to advertising (e.g., “Only accepting white tenants”) or where the landlord uses a professional property manager or other real estate professional. Some states may have additional see restrictions. See state law for more details.

Wyo. Stat. 40-26-103 , Wyo. Stat. 40-26-107 , Wyo. Stat. 40-26-110 .

Enforcement

Tenants may report discrimination regarding familial status, children, or pregnancy to the federal government directly. They also have the option in Wyoming to report it to state authorities. Tenants may choose to report the problem to both.

What happens when a tenant reports a problem to the federal government? The most recent year we have data is from 2016. In 2016, 63.4% (55.6% from Wyoming) of discrimination cases were resolved in the year they were filed. 0 out of the 9 discrimination complaints from Wyoming were about discrimination against children, familial status, or pregnancy. Landlords that violate the federal Fair Housing Act can face civil penalties up to $16,000 for a first violation and $65,000 for future violations (each act of discrimination is a separate violation). In cases where the Justice Department is involved, civil penalties may rise to $100,000 per violation and federal courts can add additional damages. Landlords should also keep in mind the time and costs involved in defending against an action by the federal government. About 36% of complaints end up with a charge or settlement, based on 2016 data. Data.gov

What happens when a tenant reports a problem to the authorities of Wyoming or a local government? They may ask the tenant for information to help bring the case, including any evidence (e.g., emails and pictures). If the government finds there’s sufficient information between the tenant’s complaint (as well as complaints from other tenants), the landlord may be charged and taken to court to defend themselves. Landlords will likely receive fines if they lose. The amount of the fines will be determined in part by the severity of the issue. Fines increase significantly for repeat offenders. Wyo. Stat. 40-26-137 , Wyo. Stat. Sec. 40-26-132 . In addition, landlords may receive a misdemeanor criminal charge in certain cases, especially for severe cases or repeat offenders. This may result in some jail time. Wyo. Stat. 40-26-137 , Wyo. Stat. 40-26-144 , Wyo. Stat. Sec. 40-26-132 .

Reporting a Violation

Tenants may report violations of federal laws (i.e., discrimination against children and families) through the HUD website – it can be done online or via phone. Tenants can report issues to their state government by looking at the state website. A google search for “report fair housing violation in Wyoming” will likely provide applicable information. In either case, tenants may be able to call the number on the page to ask whether their situation legally qualifies as rental discrimination.

Retaliation by the Landlord

Federal law (the https://www.hud.gov/program_offices/fair_housing_equal_opp/online-complaintFair Housing Act ) makes it illegal for landlords to harass a tenant in retaliation for reporting a problem. Examples of such harassment may include raising the rent or threatening to evict the tenant. Each such attempt is an additional violation. These protections do not apply if the tenant complained about something that they don’t have right to, so tenants should know whether it’s a violation. Dept of Housing and Urban Development.

Discrimination of Families, Pregnant Women, and Children in Virginia Apartments

It is illegal in Virginia (and federally) for landlords to discriminate against tenants based on their having children, being pregnant, or otherwise their familial status. Children must be provided equal access to all facilities and services offered to adults.

Family Restrictions

Most types of restrictions on families with children violate Virginia and federal law. For example, charging tenants with children higher rent or a higher deposit, advertising an apartment as being only for families (or not for families), putting an age limit for children, and placing all families in one part of the building are all illegal. 18 Va. Admin. Code 135-50-80 , Va. Code 36-96.3 , Va. Code 36-96.5 , Va. Code Sec. 36-96.3 .

Rights of Children

Landlords that treat children and adults differently are violating the law that prohibits landlords from discriminating against a tenant’s familial status. Thus, prohibiting children from playing in the laundry room, using the pool, or putting up signs that children can’t skateboard violates the law. Apartment policies must apply equally to adults and children. 18 Va. Admin. Code 135-50-80 , Va. Code 36-96.3 , Va. Code 36-96.5 , Va. Code Sec. 36-96.3 .

Pregnancy

Discriminating against pregnant tenants is illegal. For example, it’s illegal to denying an apartment application because someone is pregnant, charging higher rent or deposits to a pregnant tenant, or deliberately placing a pregnant tenant in a certain part of a building so other tenants aren’t disturbed by the noise of babies. 18 Va. Admin. Code 135-50-80 , Va. Code 36-96.3 , Va. Code 36-96.5 , Va. Code Sec. 36-96.3 .

Exemptions for Second Homes

Virginia includes an exception intended for landlords who are renting out their second homes. The law is intended to reduce the compliance burden for such non-professional landlords. Specifically, landlords who rent fewer than 4 single-family houses do not have to abide by most of the discrimination laws.

Such exemptions do not typically apply to discriminatory advertising (e.g., “Only accepting tenants over 40”) or where the landlord uses a professional property manager.

Va. Code 36-96.2 , Va. Code 36-96.7 , Va. Code Sec. 36-96.2 .

Exception for Landlord-Occupied Homes

Virginia has an exception called the “Murphy Rule”, which is intended to allow landlords to rent out extra rooms in their home without a large compliance burden. If the apartment is in the landlord’s own residence, then the landlord is free to discriminate regarding whom they rent to. This exception only applies to smaller homes, specifically where the house or building has four or fewer apartment units.

This exemption does not typically apply to advertising (e.g., “Only accepting white tenants”) or where the landlord uses a professional property manager or other real estate professional. Some states may have additional see restrictions. See state law for more details.

Va. Code 36-96.2 , Va. Code 36-96.7 , Va. Code Sec. 36-96.2 .

Enforcement

Tenants may report discrimination regarding familial status, children, or pregnancy to the federal government directly. They also have the option in Virginia to report it to state authorities. Tenants may choose to report the problem to both.

What happens when a tenant reports a problem to the federal government? The most recent year we have data is from 2016. In 2016, 63.4% (61.1% from Virginia) of discrimination cases were resolved in the year they were filed. 8 out of the 90 discrimination complaints from Virginia were about discrimination against children, familial status, or pregnancy. Landlords that violate the federal Fair Housing Act can face civil penalties up to $16,000 for a first violation and $65,000 for future violations (each act of discrimination is a separate violation). In cases where the Justice Department is involved, civil penalties may rise to $100,000 per violation and federal courts can add additional damages. Landlords should also keep in mind the time and costs involved in defending against an action by the federal government. About 36% of complaints end up with a charge or settlement, based on 2016 data. Data.gov

What happens when a tenant reports a problem to the authorities of Virginia or a local government? They may ask the tenant for information to help bring the case, including any evidence (e.g., emails and pictures). If the government finds there’s sufficient information between the tenant’s complaint (as well as complaints from other tenants), the landlord may be charged and taken to court to defend themselves. Landlords will likely receive fines if they lose. The amount of the fines will be determined in part by the severity of the issue. Fines increase significantly for repeat offenders. Va. Code Sec. 36-96.17 . Va. Code Sec. 36-96.17 .

Reporting a Violation

Tenants may report violations of federal laws (i.e., discrimination against children and families) through the HUD website – it can be done online or via phone. Tenants can report issues to their state government by looking at the state website. A google search for “report fair housing violation in Virginia” will likely provide applicable information. In either case, tenants may be able to call the number on the page to ask whether their situation legally qualifies as rental discrimination.

Retaliation by the Landlord

Federal law (the https://www.hud.gov/program_offices/fair_housing_equal_opp/online-complaintFair Housing Act ) makes it illegal for landlords to harass a tenant in retaliation for reporting a problem. Examples of such harassment may include raising the rent or threatening to evict the tenant. Each such attempt is an additional violation. These protections do not apply if the tenant complained about something that they don’t have right to, so tenants should know whether it’s a violation. 7 such cases were filed with the federal government from in last year we have data (2016). Data.gov. Dept of Housing and Urban Development.

Discrimination of Families, Pregnant Women, and Children in Washington Apartments

It is illegal in Washington (and federally) for landlords to discriminate against tenants based on their having children, being pregnant, or otherwise their familial status. Children must be provided equal access to all facilities and services offered to adults. In addition, tenants are protected from discrimination based on their marital status.

Family Restrictions

Most types of restrictions on families with children violate Washington and federal law. For example, charging tenants with children higher rent or a higher deposit, advertising an apartment as being only for families (or not for families), putting an age limit for children, and placing all families in one part of the building are all illegal. Wash. Rev. Code 49.60.210 , Wash. Rev. Code 49.60.222 , Wash. Rev. Code Sec. 49.60.222 .

Rights of Children

Landlords that treat children and adults differently are violating the law that prohibits landlords from discriminating against a tenant’s familial status. Thus, prohibiting children from playing in the laundry room, using the pool, or putting up signs that children can’t skateboard violates the law. Apartment policies must apply equally to adults and children. Wash. Rev. Code 49.60.210 , Wash. Rev. Code 49.60.222 , Wash. Rev. Code Sec. 49.60.222 .

Pregnancy

Discriminating against pregnant tenants is illegal. For example, it’s illegal to denying an apartment application because someone is pregnant, charging higher rent or deposits to a pregnant tenant, or deliberately placing a pregnant tenant in a certain part of a building so other tenants aren’t disturbed by the noise of babies. Wash. Rev. Code 49.60.210 , Wash. Rev. Code 49.60.222 , Wash. Rev. Code Sec. 49.60.222 .

Marital Status

Washington additionally prohibits discrimination based on one’s marital status. Landlords cannot offer lowered rent to married tenants, only accept married couples, or only accept single tenants. Wash. Rev. Code 49.60.210 , Wash. Rev. Code 49.60.222 , Wash. Rev. Code Sec. 49.60.222 .

Exemptions for Second Homes

Washington includes an exception intended for landlords who are renting out their second homes. The law is intended to reduce the compliance burden for such non-professional landlords. Specifically, landlords who rent fewer than 4 single-family houses do not have to abide by most of the discrimination laws.

Such exemptions do not typically apply to discriminatory advertising (e.g., “Only accepting tenants over 40”) or where the landlord uses a professional property manager.

Wash. Rev. Code 49.60.222 .

Exception for Landlord-Occupied Homes

Washington has an exception called the “Murphy Rule”, which is intended to allow landlords to rent out extra rooms in their home without a large compliance burden. If the apartment is in the landlord’s own residence, then the landlord is free to discriminate regarding whom they rent to. This exception only applies to smaller homes, specifically where the house or building has four or fewer apartment units.

This exemption does not typically apply to advertising (e.g., “Only accepting white tenants”) or where the landlord uses a professional property manager or other real estate professional. Some states may have additional see restrictions. See state law for more details.

Wash. Rev. Code 49.60.222 .

Enforcement

Tenants may report discrimination regarding familial status, children, or pregnancy to the federal government directly. They also have the option in Washington to report it to state authorities. Tenants may choose to report the problem to both.

What happens when a tenant reports a problem to the federal government? The most recent year we have data is from 2016. In 2016, 63.4% (57.3% from Washington) of discrimination cases were resolved in the year they were filed. 20 out of the 171 discrimination complaints from Washington were about discrimination against children, familial status, or pregnancy. Landlords that violate the federal Fair Housing Act can face civil penalties up to $16,000 for a first violation and $65,000 for future violations (each act of discrimination is a separate violation). In cases where the Justice Department is involved, civil penalties may rise to $100,000 per violation and federal courts can add additional damages. Landlords should also keep in mind the time and costs involved in defending against an action by the federal government. About 36% of complaints end up with a charge or settlement, based on 2016 data. Data.gov

What happens when a tenant reports a problem to the authorities of Washington or a local government? They may ask the tenant for information to help bring the case, including any evidence (e.g., emails and pictures). If the government finds there’s sufficient information between the tenant’s complaint (as well as complaints from other tenants), the landlord may be charged and taken to court to defend themselves. Landlords will likely receive fines if they lose. The amount of the fines will be determined in part by the severity of the issue. Fines increase significantly for repeat offenders. Wash. Rev. Code Sec. 49.60.225 . In addition, landlords may receive a misdemeanor criminal charge in certain cases, especially for severe cases or repeat offenders. This may result in some jail time. Wash. Rev. Code 49.60.310 , Wash. Rev. Code Sec. 49.60.225 .

Reporting a Violation

Tenants may report violations of federal laws (i.e., discrimination against children and families) through the HUD website – it can be done online or via phone. Tenants can report issues to their state government by looking at the state website. A google search for “report fair housing violation in Washington” will likely provide applicable information. In either case, tenants may be able to call the number on the page to ask whether their situation legally qualifies as rental discrimination.

Retaliation by the Landlord

Federal law (the https://www.hud.gov/program_offices/fair_housing_equal_opp/online-complaintFair Housing Act ) makes it illegal for landlords to harass a tenant in retaliation for reporting a problem. Examples of such harassment may include raising the rent or threatening to evict the tenant. Each such attempt is an additional violation. These protections do not apply if the tenant complained about something that they don’t have right to, so tenants should know whether it’s a violation. 14 such cases were filed with the federal government from in last year we have data (2016). Data.gov. Dept of Housing and Urban Development.

Discrimination of Families, Pregnant Women, and Children in West Virginia Apartments

It is illegal in West Virginia (and federally) for landlords to discriminate against tenants based on their having children, being pregnant, or otherwise their familial status. Children must be provided equal access to all facilities and services offered to adults.

Family Restrictions

Most types of restrictions on families with children violate West Virginia and federal law. For example, charging tenants with children higher rent or a higher deposit, advertising an apartment as being only for families (or not for families), putting an age limit for children, and placing all families in one part of the building are all illegal. W. Va. Code Sec. 5-11 .

Rights of Children

Landlords that treat children and adults differently are violating the law that prohibits landlords from discriminating against a tenant’s familial status. Thus, prohibiting children from playing in the laundry room, using the pool, or putting up signs that children can’t skateboard violates the law. Apartment policies must apply equally to adults and children. W. Va. Code Sec. 5-11 .

Pregnancy

Discriminating against pregnant tenants is illegal. For example, it’s illegal to denying an apartment application because someone is pregnant, charging higher rent or deposits to a pregnant tenant, or deliberately placing a pregnant tenant in a certain part of a building so other tenants aren’t disturbed by the noise of babies. W. Va. Code Sec. 5-11 .

Exemptions for Second Homes

West Virginia includes an exception intended for landlords who are renting out their second homes. The law is intended to reduce the compliance burden for such non-professional landlords. Specifically, landlords who rent fewer than 4 single-family houses do not have to abide by most of the discrimination laws.

Such exemptions do not typically apply to discriminatory advertising (e.g., “Only accepting tenants over 40”) or where the landlord uses a professional property manager.

W. Va. Code 5-11 .

Exception for Landlord-Occupied Homes

West Virginia has an exception called the “Murphy Rule”, which is intended to allow landlords to rent out extra rooms in their home without a large compliance burden. If the apartment is in the landlord’s own residence, then the landlord is free to discriminate regarding whom they rent to. This exception only applies to smaller homes, specifically where the house or building has four or fewer apartment units.

This exemption does not typically apply to advertising (e.g., “Only accepting white tenants”) or where the landlord uses a professional property manager or other real estate professional. Some states may have additional see restrictions. See state law for more details.

W. Va. Code 5-11 .

Enforcement

Tenants may report discrimination regarding familial status, children, or pregnancy to the federal government directly. They also have the option in West Virginia to report it to state authorities. Tenants may choose to report the problem to both.

What happens when a tenant reports a problem to the federal government? The most recent year we have data is from 2016. In 2016, 63.4% (25.0% from West Virginia) of discrimination cases were resolved in the year they were filed. 0 out of the 16 discrimination complaints from West Virginia were about discrimination against children, familial status, or pregnancy. Landlords that violate the federal Fair Housing Act can face civil penalties up to $16,000 for a first violation and $65,000 for future violations (each act of discrimination is a separate violation). In cases where the Justice Department is involved, civil penalties may rise to $100,000 per violation and federal courts can add additional damages. Landlords should also keep in mind the time and costs involved in defending against an action by the federal government. About 36% of complaints end up with a charge or settlement, based on 2016 data. Data.gov

What happens when a tenant reports a problem to the authorities of West Virginia or a local government? They may ask the tenant for information to help bring the case, including any evidence (e.g., emails and pictures). If the government finds there’s sufficient information between the tenant’s complaint (as well as complaints from other tenants), the landlord may be charged and taken to court to defend themselves. Landlords will likely receive fines if they lose. The amount of the fines will be determined in part by the severity of the issue. Fines increase significantly for repeat offenders. W. Va. Code 5-11 , W. Va. Code Sec. 5-11 . W. Va. Code 5-11 , W. Va. Code Sec. 5-11 .

Reporting a Violation

Tenants may report violations of federal laws (i.e., discrimination against children and families) through the HUD website – it can be done online or via phone. Tenants can report issues to their state government by looking at the state website. A google search for “report fair housing violation in West Virginia” will likely provide applicable information. In either case, tenants may be able to call the number on the page to ask whether their situation legally qualifies as rental discrimination.

Retaliation by the Landlord

Federal law (the https://www.hud.gov/program_offices/fair_housing_equal_opp/online-complaintFair Housing Act ) makes it illegal for landlords to harass a tenant in retaliation for reporting a problem. Examples of such harassment may include raising the rent or threatening to evict the tenant. Each such attempt is an additional violation. These protections do not apply if the tenant complained about something that they don’t have right to, so tenants should know whether it’s a violation. Dept of Housing and Urban Development.

Discrimination of Families, Pregnant Women, and Children in Utah Apartments

It is illegal in Utah (and federally) for landlords to discriminate against tenants based on their having children, being pregnant, or otherwise their familial status. Children must be provided equal access to all facilities and services offered to adults.

Family Restrictions

Most types of restrictions on families with children violate Utah and federal law. For example, charging tenants with children higher rent or a higher deposit, advertising an apartment as being only for families (or not for families), putting an age limit for children, and placing all families in one part of the building are all illegal. Utah Code 57-21-7 , Utah Code Sec.57-21-5 .

Rights of Children

Landlords that treat children and adults differently are violating the law that prohibits landlords from discriminating against a tenant’s familial status. Thus, prohibiting children from playing in the laundry room, using the pool, or putting up signs that children can’t skateboard violates the law. Apartment policies must apply equally to adults and children. Utah Code 57-21-7 , Utah Code Sec.57-21-5 .

Pregnancy

Discriminating against pregnant tenants is illegal. For example, it’s illegal to denying an apartment application because someone is pregnant, charging higher rent or deposits to a pregnant tenant, or deliberately placing a pregnant tenant in a certain part of a building so other tenants aren’t disturbed by the noise of babies. Utah Code 57-21-7 , Utah Code Sec.57-21-5 .

Exemptions for Second Homes

Utah includes an exception intended for landlords who are renting out their second homes. The law is intended to reduce the compliance burden for such non-professional landlords. Specifically, landlords who rent fewer than 4 single-family houses do not have to abide by most of the discrimination laws.

Such exemptions do not typically apply to discriminatory advertising (e.g., “Only accepting tenants over 40”) or where the landlord uses a professional property manager.

Utah Code 57-21-3 .

Exception for Landlord-Occupied Homes

Utah has an exception called the “Murphy Rule”, which is intended to allow landlords to rent out extra rooms in their home without a large compliance burden. If the apartment is in the landlord’s own residence, then the landlord is free to discriminate regarding whom they rent to. This exception only applies to smaller homes, specifically where the house or building has four or fewer apartment units.

This exemption does not typically apply to advertising (e.g., “Only accepting white tenants”) or where the landlord uses a professional property manager or other real estate professional. Some states may have additional see restrictions. See state law for more details.

Utah Code 57-21-3 .

Enforcement

Tenants may report discrimination regarding familial status, children, or pregnancy to the federal government directly. They also have the option in Utah to report it to state authorities. Tenants may choose to report the problem to both.

What happens when a tenant reports a problem to the federal government? The most recent year we have data is from 2016. In 2016, 63.4% (59.7% from Utah) of discrimination cases were resolved in the year they were filed. 3 out of the 67 discrimination complaints from Utah were about discrimination against children, familial status, or pregnancy. Landlords that violate the federal Fair Housing Act can face civil penalties up to $16,000 for a first violation and $65,000 for future violations (each act of discrimination is a separate violation). In cases where the Justice Department is involved, civil penalties may rise to $100,000 per violation and federal courts can add additional damages. Landlords should also keep in mind the time and costs involved in defending against an action by the federal government. About 36% of complaints end up with a charge or settlement, based on 2016 data. Data.gov

What happens when a tenant reports a problem to the authorities of Utah or a local government? They may ask the tenant for information to help bring the case, including any evidence (e.g., emails and pictures). If the government finds there’s sufficient information between the tenant’s complaint (as well as complaints from other tenants), the landlord may be charged and taken to court to defend themselves. Landlords will likely receive fines if they lose. The amount of the fines will be determined in part by the severity of the issue. Fines increase significantly for repeat offenders. Utah Code Sec. 57-21-11 . Utah Code Sec. 57-21-11 .

Reporting a Violation

Tenants may report violations of federal laws (i.e., discrimination against children and families) through the HUD website – it can be done online or via phone. Tenants can report issues to their state government by looking at the state website. A google search for “report fair housing violation in Utah” will likely provide applicable information. In either case, tenants may be able to call the number on the page to ask whether their situation legally qualifies as rental discrimination.

Retaliation by the Landlord

Federal law (the https://www.hud.gov/program_offices/fair_housing_equal_opp/online-complaintFair Housing Act ) makes it illegal for landlords to harass a tenant in retaliation for reporting a problem. Examples of such harassment may include raising the rent or threatening to evict the tenant. Each such attempt is an additional violation. These protections do not apply if the tenant complained about something that they don’t have right to, so tenants should know whether it’s a violation. 10 such cases were filed with the federal government from in last year we have data (2016). Data.gov. Dept of Housing and Urban Development.

Discrimination of Families, Pregnant Women, and Children in Vermont Apartments

It is illegal in Vermont (and federally) for landlords to discriminate against tenants based on their having children, being pregnant, or otherwise their familial status. Children must be provided equal access to all facilities and services offered to adults. In addition, tenants are protected from discrimination based on their marital status.

Family Restrictions

Most types of restrictions on families with children violate Vermont and federal law. For example, charging tenants with children higher rent or a higher deposit, advertising an apartment as being only for families (or not for families), putting an age limit for children, and placing all families in one part of the building are all illegal. Vt. Stat. tit. 9, 4503 , Vt. Stat. tit. 9, 4506 , Vt. Stat. tit. 9, Sec. 4503 .

Rights of Children

Landlords that treat children and adults differently are violating the law that prohibits landlords from discriminating against a tenant’s familial status. Thus, prohibiting children from playing in the laundry room, using the pool, or putting up signs that children can’t skateboard violates the law. Apartment policies must apply equally to adults and children. Vt. Stat. tit. 9, 4503 , Vt. Stat. tit. 9, 4506 , Vt. Stat. tit. 9, Sec. 4503 .

Pregnancy

Discriminating against pregnant tenants is illegal. For example, it’s illegal to denying an apartment application because someone is pregnant, charging higher rent or deposits to a pregnant tenant, or deliberately placing a pregnant tenant in a certain part of a building so other tenants aren’t disturbed by the noise of babies. Vt. Stat. tit. 9, 4503 , Vt. Stat. tit. 9, 4506 , Vt. Stat. tit. 9, Sec. 4503 .

Marital Status

Vermont additionally prohibits discrimination based on one’s marital status. Landlords cannot offer lowered rent to married tenants, only accept married couples, or only accept single tenants. Vt. Stat. tit. 9, 4503 , Vt. Stat. tit. 9, 4506 , Vt. Stat. tit. 9, Sec. 4503 .

Exception for Landlord-Occupied Homes

Vermont has an exception called the “Murphy Rule”, which is intended to allow landlords to rent out extra rooms in their home without a large compliance burden. If the apartment is in the landlord’s own residence, then the landlord is free to discriminate regarding whom they rent to. This exception only applies to smaller homes, specifically where the house or building has four or fewer apartment units.

This exemption does not typically apply to advertising (e.g., “Only accepting white tenants”) or where the landlord uses a professional property manager or other real estate professional. Some states may have additional see restrictions. See state law for more details.

Vt. Stat. tit. 9, 4503 , Vt. Stat. tit. 9, 4504 .

Enforcement

Tenants may report discrimination regarding familial status, children, or pregnancy to the federal government directly. They also have the option in Vermont to report it to state authorities. Tenants may choose to report the problem to both.

What happens when a tenant reports a problem to the federal government? The most recent year we have data is from 2016. In 2016, 63.4% (54.5% from Vermont) of discrimination cases were resolved in the year they were filed. 1 out of the 11 discrimination complaints from Vermont were about discrimination against children, familial status, or pregnancy. Landlords that violate the federal Fair Housing Act can face civil penalties up to $16,000 for a first violation and $65,000 for future violations (each act of discrimination is a separate violation). In cases where the Justice Department is involved, civil penalties may rise to $100,000 per violation and federal courts can add additional damages. Landlords should also keep in mind the time and costs involved in defending against an action by the federal government. About 36% of complaints end up with a charge or settlement, based on 2016 data. Data.gov

What happens when a tenant reports a problem to the authorities of Vermont or a local government? They may ask the tenant for information to help bring the case, including any evidence (e.g., emails and pictures). If the government finds there’s sufficient information between the tenant’s complaint (as well as complaints from other tenants), the landlord may be charged and taken to court to defend themselves. Landlords will likely receive fines if they lose. The amount of the fines will be determined in part by the severity of the issue. Fines increase significantly for repeat offenders. Vt. Stat. tit. 9, Sec. 4507 . Vt. Stat. tit. 9, Sec. 4507 .

Reporting a Violation

Tenants may report violations of federal laws (i.e., discrimination against children and families) through the HUD website – it can be done online or via phone. Tenants can report issues to their state government by looking at the state website. A google search for “report fair housing violation in Vermont” will likely provide applicable information. In either case, tenants may be able to call the number on the page to ask whether their situation legally qualifies as rental discrimination.

Retaliation by the Landlord

Federal law (the https://www.hud.gov/program_offices/fair_housing_equal_opp/online-complaintFair Housing Act ) makes it illegal for landlords to harass a tenant in retaliation for reporting a problem. Examples of such harassment may include raising the rent or threatening to evict the tenant. Each such attempt is an additional violation. These protections do not apply if the tenant complained about something that they don’t have right to, so tenants should know whether it’s a violation. Dept of Housing and Urban Development.

Discrimination of Families, Pregnant Women, and Children in South Dakota Apartments

It is illegal in South Dakota (and federally) for landlords to discriminate against tenants based on their having children, being pregnant, or otherwise their familial status. Children must be provided equal access to all facilities and services offered to adults.

Family Restrictions

Most types of restrictions on families with children violate South Dakota and federal law. For example, charging tenants with children higher rent or a higher deposit, advertising an apartment as being only for families (or not for families), putting an age limit for children, and placing all families in one part of the building are all illegal. S.D. Codified Laws Sec. 20-13-20 .

Rights of Children

Landlords that treat children and adults differently are violating the law that prohibits landlords from discriminating against a tenant’s familial status. Thus, prohibiting children from playing in the laundry room, using the pool, or putting up signs that children can’t skateboard violates the law. Apartment policies must apply equally to adults and children. S.D. Codified Laws Sec. 20-13-20 .

Pregnancy

Discriminating against pregnant tenants is illegal. For example, it’s illegal to denying an apartment application because someone is pregnant, charging higher rent or deposits to a pregnant tenant, or deliberately placing a pregnant tenant in a certain part of a building so other tenants aren’t disturbed by the noise of babies. S.D. Codified Laws Sec. 20-13-20 .

Exception for Landlord-Occupied Homes

South Dakota has an exception called the “Murphy Rule”, which is intended to allow landlords to rent out extra rooms in their home without a large compliance burden. If the apartment is in the landlord’s own residence, then the landlord is free to discriminate regarding whom they rent to. This exception only applies to smaller homes, specifically where the house or building has four or fewer apartment units.

This exemption does not typically apply to advertising (e.g., “Only accepting white tenants”) or where the landlord uses a professional property manager or other real estate professional. Some states may have additional see restrictions. See state law for more details.

S.D. Codified Laws 20-13-20 .

Enforcement

Tenants may report discrimination regarding familial status, children, or pregnancy to the federal government directly. They also have the option in South Dakota to report it to state authorities. Tenants may choose to report the problem to both.

What happens when a tenant reports a problem to the federal government? The most recent year we have data is from 2016. In 2016, 63.4% (60.0% from South Dakota) of discrimination cases were resolved in the year they were filed. 1 out of the 5 discrimination complaints from South Dakota were about discrimination against children, familial status, or pregnancy. Landlords that violate the federal Fair Housing Act can face civil penalties up to $16,000 for a first violation and $65,000 for future violations (each act of discrimination is a separate violation). In cases where the Justice Department is involved, civil penalties may rise to $100,000 per violation and federal courts can add additional damages. Landlords should also keep in mind the time and costs involved in defending against an action by the federal government. About 36% of complaints end up with a charge or settlement, based on 2016 data. Data.gov

What happens when a tenant reports a problem to the authorities of South Dakota or a local government? They may ask the tenant for information to help bring the case, including any evidence (e.g., emails and pictures). If the government finds there’s sufficient information between the tenant’s complaint (as well as complaints from other tenants), the landlord may be charged and taken to court to defend themselves. South Dakota law does not describe the penalties for violations of the fair housing rules. This means a judge decides consequences on a case-by-case basis. .

Reporting a Violation

Tenants may report violations of federal laws (i.e., discrimination against children and families) through the HUD website – it can be done online or via phone. Tenants can report issues to their state government by looking at the state website. A google search for “report fair housing violation in South Dakota” will likely provide applicable information. In either case, tenants may be able to call the number on the page to ask whether their situation legally qualifies as rental discrimination.

Retaliation by the Landlord

Federal law (the https://www.hud.gov/program_offices/fair_housing_equal_opp/online-complaintFair Housing Act ) makes it illegal for landlords to harass a tenant in retaliation for reporting a problem. Examples of such harassment may include raising the rent or threatening to evict the tenant. Each such attempt is an additional violation. These protections do not apply if the tenant complained about something that they don’t have right to, so tenants should know whether it’s a violation. Dept of Housing and Urban Development.

Discrimination of Families, Pregnant Women, and Children in Tennessee Apartments

It is illegal in Tennessee (and federally) for landlords to discriminate against tenants based on their having children, being pregnant, or otherwise their familial status. Children must be provided equal access to all facilities and services offered to adults.

Family Restrictions

Most types of restrictions on families with children violate Tennessee and federal law. For example, charging tenants with children higher rent or a higher deposit, advertising an apartment as being only for families (or not for families), putting an age limit for children, and placing all families in one part of the building are all illegal. Tenn. Code 4-21-301 , Tenn. Code 4-21-601 .

Rights of Children

Landlords that treat children and adults differently are violating the law that prohibits landlords from discriminating against a tenant’s familial status. Thus, prohibiting children from playing in the laundry room, using the pool, or putting up signs that children can’t skateboard violates the law. Apartment policies must apply equally to adults and children. Tenn. Code 4-21-301 , Tenn. Code 4-21-601 .

Pregnancy

Discriminating against pregnant tenants is illegal. For example, it’s illegal to denying an apartment application because someone is pregnant, charging higher rent or deposits to a pregnant tenant, or deliberately placing a pregnant tenant in a certain part of a building so other tenants aren’t disturbed by the noise of babies. Tenn. Code 4-21-301 , Tenn. Code 4-21-601 .

Exception for Landlord-Occupied Homes

Tennessee has an exception called the “Murphy Rule”, which is intended to allow landlords to rent out extra rooms in their home without a large compliance burden. If the apartment is in the landlord’s own residence, then the landlord is free to discriminate regarding whom they rent to. This exception only applies to smaller homes, specifically where the house or building has four or fewer apartment units.

This exemption does not typically apply to advertising (e.g., “Only accepting white tenants”) or where the landlord uses a professional property manager or other real estate professional. Some states may have additional see restrictions. See state law for more details.

Tenn. Code 4-21-601 , Tenn. Code 4-21-602 .

Enforcement

Tenants may report discrimination regarding familial status, children, or pregnancy to the federal government directly. They also have the option in Tennessee to report it to state authorities. Tenants may choose to report the problem to both.

What happens when a tenant reports a problem to the federal government? The most recent year we have data is from 2016. In 2016, 63.4% (51.3% from Tennessee) of discrimination cases were resolved in the year they were filed. 18 out of the 117 discrimination complaints from Tennessee were about discrimination against children, familial status, or pregnancy. Landlords that violate the federal Fair Housing Act can face civil penalties up to $16,000 for a first violation and $65,000 for future violations (each act of discrimination is a separate violation). In cases where the Justice Department is involved, civil penalties may rise to $100,000 per violation and federal courts can add additional damages. Landlords should also keep in mind the time and costs involved in defending against an action by the federal government. About 36% of complaints end up with a charge or settlement, based on 2016 data. Data.gov

What happens when a tenant reports a problem to the authorities of Tennessee or a local government? They may ask the tenant for information to help bring the case, including any evidence (e.g., emails and pictures). If the government finds there’s sufficient information between the tenant’s complaint (as well as complaints from other tenants), the landlord may be charged and taken to court to defend themselves. Landlords will likely receive fines if they lose. The amount of the fines will be determined in part by the severity of the issue. Fines increase significantly for repeat offenders. Tenn. Code Sec. 4-21-306 . Tenn. Code Sec. 4-21-306 .

Reporting a Violation

Tenants may report violations of federal laws (i.e., discrimination against children and families) through the HUD website – it can be done online or via phone. Tenants can report issues to their state government by looking at the state website. A google search for “report fair housing violation in Tennessee” will likely provide applicable information. In either case, tenants may be able to call the number on the page to ask whether their situation legally qualifies as rental discrimination.

Retaliation by the Landlord

Federal law (the https://www.hud.gov/program_offices/fair_housing_equal_opp/online-complaintFair Housing Act ) makes it illegal for landlords to harass a tenant in retaliation for reporting a problem. Examples of such harassment may include raising the rent or threatening to evict the tenant. Each such attempt is an additional violation. These protections do not apply if the tenant complained about something that they don’t have right to, so tenants should know whether it’s a violation. 8 such cases were filed with the federal government from in last year we have data (2016). Data.gov. Dept of Housing and Urban Development.

Discrimination of Families, Pregnant Women, and Children in Texas Apartments

It is illegal in Texas (and federally) for landlords to discriminate against tenants based on their having children, being pregnant, or otherwise their familial status. Children must be provided equal access to all facilities and services offered to adults.

Family Restrictions

Most types of restrictions on families with children violate Texas and federal law. For example, charging tenants with children higher rent or a higher deposit, advertising an apartment as being only for families (or not for families), putting an age limit for children, and placing all families in one part of the building are all illegal. 40 Tex. Admin. Code 819.124 , 40 Tex. Admin. Code 819.126 , 40 Tex. Admin. Code Sec. 819.126 , Tex. Prop. Code 301.021 , Tex. Prop. Code 301.022 , Tex. Prop. Code 301.025 , Tex. Prop. Code 301.171 .

Rights of Children

Landlords that treat children and adults differently are violating the law that prohibits landlords from discriminating against a tenant’s familial status. Thus, prohibiting children from playing in the laundry room, using the pool, or putting up signs that children can’t skateboard violates the law. Apartment policies must apply equally to adults and children. 40 Tex. Admin. Code 819.124 , 40 Tex. Admin. Code 819.126 , 40 Tex. Admin. Code Sec. 819.126 , Tex. Prop. Code 301.021 , Tex. Prop. Code 301.022 , Tex. Prop. Code 301.025 , Tex. Prop. Code 301.171 .

Pregnancy

Discriminating against pregnant tenants is illegal. For example, it’s illegal to denying an apartment application because someone is pregnant, charging higher rent or deposits to a pregnant tenant, or deliberately placing a pregnant tenant in a certain part of a building so other tenants aren’t disturbed by the noise of babies. 40 Tex. Admin. Code 819.124 , 40 Tex. Admin. Code 819.126 , 40 Tex. Admin. Code Sec. 819.126 , Tex. Prop. Code 301.021 , Tex. Prop. Code 301.022 , Tex. Prop. Code 301.025 , Tex. Prop. Code 301.171 .

Exemptions for Second Homes

Texas includes an exception intended for landlords who are renting out their second homes. The law is intended to reduce the compliance burden for such non-professional landlords. Specifically, landlords who rent fewer than 4 single-family houses do not have to abide by most of the discrimination laws.

Such exemptions do not typically apply to discriminatory advertising (e.g., “Only accepting tenants over 40”) or where the landlord uses a professional property manager.

40 Tex. Admin. Code 819.122 , Tex. Prop. Code 301.021 , Tex. Prop. Code 301.025 .

Exception for Landlord-Occupied Homes

Texas has an exception called the “Murphy Rule”, which is intended to allow landlords to rent out extra rooms in their home without a large compliance burden. If the apartment is in the landlord’s own residence, then the landlord is free to discriminate regarding whom they rent to. This exception only applies to smaller homes, specifically where the house or building has four or fewer apartment units.

This exemption does not typically apply to advertising (e.g., “Only accepting white tenants”) or where the landlord uses a professional property manager or other real estate professional. Some states may have additional see restrictions. See state law for more details.

40 Tex. Admin. Code 819.122 , Tex. Prop. Code 301.021 , Tex. Prop. Code 301.025 .

Enforcement

Tenants may report discrimination regarding familial status, children, or pregnancy to the federal government directly. They also have the option in Texas to report it to state authorities. Tenants may choose to report the problem to both.

What happens when a tenant reports a problem to the federal government? The most recent year we have data is from 2016. In 2016, 63.4% (85.7% from Texas) of discrimination cases were resolved in the year they were filed. 56 out of the 1139 discrimination complaints from Texas were about discrimination against children, familial status, or pregnancy. Landlords that violate the federal Fair Housing Act can face civil penalties up to $16,000 for a first violation and $65,000 for future violations (each act of discrimination is a separate violation). In cases where the Justice Department is involved, civil penalties may rise to $100,000 per violation and federal courts can add additional damages. Landlords should also keep in mind the time and costs involved in defending against an action by the federal government. About 36% of complaints end up with a charge or settlement, based on 2016 data. Data.gov

What happens when a tenant reports a problem to the authorities of Texas or a local government? They may ask the tenant for information to help bring the case, including any evidence (e.g., emails and pictures). If the government finds there’s sufficient information between the tenant’s complaint (as well as complaints from other tenants), the landlord may be charged and taken to court to defend themselves. Landlords will likely receive fines if they lose. The amount of the fines will be determined in part by the severity of the issue. Fines increase significantly for repeat offenders. Tex. Prop. Code Sec. 301.112 . In addition, landlords may receive a misdemeanor criminal charge in certain cases, especially for severe cases or repeat offenders. This may result in some jail time. Tex. Prop. Code 301.171 , Tex. Prop. Code Sec. 301.112 .

Reporting a Violation

Tenants may report violations of federal laws (i.e., discrimination against children and families) through the HUD website – it can be done online or via phone. Tenants can report issues to their state government by looking at the state website. A google search for “report fair housing violation in Texas” will likely provide applicable information. In either case, tenants may be able to call the number on the page to ask whether their situation legally qualifies as rental discrimination.

Retaliation by the Landlord

Federal law (the https://www.hud.gov/program_offices/fair_housing_equal_opp/online-complaintFair Housing Act ) makes it illegal for landlords to harass a tenant in retaliation for reporting a problem. Examples of such harassment may include raising the rent or threatening to evict the tenant. Each such attempt is an additional violation. These protections do not apply if the tenant complained about something that they don’t have right to, so tenants should know whether it’s a violation. 43 such cases were filed with the federal government from in last year we have data (2016). Data.gov. Dept of Housing and Urban Development.